Central African Republic / 0 Products

Nestled in the heart of Central Africa, the Central African Republic is a landlocked nation bordered by Chad, Sudan, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of the Congo, and Cameroon.

The official currency of the Central African Republic is the Central African CFA franc, established in 1945 and jointly utilized by six independent states in Central Africa—Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon.

The Central African CFA franc took the reins from the French Equatorial African franc, the former currency of the Equatorial African colonies and territories, including Chad, French Cameroun, French Congo, Gabon, and the Central African Republic. In 1948, coins in denominations of 1 and 2 francs were issued for use in all the colonies except French Cameroun.

The coinage expanded in 1958 with the introduction of 5, 10, and 25 franc denominations, including coins for use in French Cameroun bearing the state name "Cameroun" alongside "États de l'Afrique Équatoriale."

A significant development unfolded in 1971, with the introduction of 100 franc coins for each individual member state, showcasing the respective state name. Between 1976 and 1996, 50-franc coins were issued for the Central African Republic, distinguished by the identification letter "C" instead of the state name.

In 1996, a transformation occurred as 100 franc coins were issued sans state names and identification letters. A notable redesign in 2006 brought forth a new era, marked by the introduction of bi-metallic 100-franc and 500-franc coins. These revamped coins bear the acronym for the Communaute Economique et Monetaire de l'Afrique Centrale, a mint mark on the left of the reverse, and a privy mark on the right.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page