Algeria / 1 Products

Algiers, the capital and chief seaport of Algeria, was the center of Phoenician and Roman settlements. After the Turkish corsairs obtained control of the city, gold sultani coins (locally called dinars) began to be minted in the 1520s. Algiers soon became one of the prime locations for gold sultani production. Meanwhile, in the second half of the 16th century, another mint in Algeria emerged. Unlike the Turkish sultani coins, this mint produced golden coins in the name of Ottoman sultans. The Ottoman golden coins were struck until 1603. 

Silver coins, in contrast, were limited in Algeria until the 18th century. These silver coins were square in shape and were called akce or asper. Local authorities began to issue larger silver coins called budju or riyal budju. Copper coins called harruba or bourne were also issued. These coins were issued in fractions of the akce.

In the start of the 17th century, the Spanish eight-real piece or piaster arose as the leading means of exchange. During the start of the French occupation of Algeria in 1830, new mints were opened in Constantine and Medea. Mints at al-Taqidemt and al-Mascara also produced Ottoman-style coins to support resistance fighter Abdul Qadir. 

When the French fully occupied Algeria in 1848, the bidju was replaced with the franc. Algeria continued to use the franc even after its independence in 1962. 

On April 1,0 1964, the franc was replaced with the dinar. The dinar was subdivided into 100 santeem or centimes, which is now obsolete. Coins were produced in the following denominations: aluminum coins in 1-, 2-, and 5- centimes; aluminum-bronze coins in 10-, 20-, and 50- centimes; and a cupro-nickel coin in 1 dinar. These coins featured the national emblem on the obverse and the denomination in Eastern Arabic numbers at the back. The 1-, 2-, 5-, 10-, and 20-centimes coins were last produced in 1980. 

In 1992, a new series of coins was introduced with denominations of ¼, ½, 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 dinars. Commemorative 200-dinar coins were issued in 2012 and 2022 to celebrate the anniversary of independence. The 10-, 20-, 50-, 100-, and 200-dinar coins are bimetallic. In the late 1990s, the fractional dinar coins and centime coins dropped out of general circulation while the 1- and 2-dinar coins are rarely used.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>
  • Drag and drop me to the cart The product is unavailable in the catalog
    As low as
    • Price:$24.99 USD
    • EachEa.
    Only 3 left in stock.
    Credit Card
    $24.99 USD Each