Botswana / 1 Products

The Republic of Botswana is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. Most of the country is covered by the Kalahari Desert. It shares its borders with South Africa to the south and southeast, Namibia to the west and north, and Zimbabwe to the northeast. 

After Botswana became independent in 1966, it struck a commemorative 50-cent coin. Botswana used the South African rand until 1976, when it introduced its own currency, the pula. The pula replaced the rand at par.

The pula is the official currency of Botswana. It is subdivided into 100 thebe.

The first series of coins was introduced on 23 August 1976, Pula Day. The coins came in denominations of 1 thebe, 5 thebe, 10 thebe, 25 thebe, and 50 thebe. These coins were struck in cupronickel except for 1 thebe (aluminum) and 5 thebe (bronze). The 2-thebe coin was introduced in 1981 and discontinued in 1985.

The metals of the coins were replaced in 1991. The 1 thebe was struck on nickel-brass, the 5 thebe on bronze-plated steel, and the remaining denominations on nickel-plated steel. A nickel-brass 2-pula coin was introduced in 1994. Ten years later, the composition of the 2-pula coin changed to brass-plated steel. 

The 1- and 2-thebe coins were withdrawn from circulation in 1991 and 1998 respectively. A bimetallic 5-pula coin was introduced in 2000. The coin is composed of an aluminum-nickel-bronze ring and a cupronickel center. 

A new series of coins was introduced in 2013. Previous coins were demonetized in 2014 and remained exchangeable to current coins until 2019. 

All the coins feature the national coat of arms of Botswana and local animal species, including the red-billed hornbill, a South African gemsbock, a Zebu cow, an African fish eagle, a zebra, a white rhinoceros, and a mopane worm.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>
  • Drag and drop me to the cart The product is unavailable in the catalog
    As low as
    • Price:$19.99 USD
    • EachEa.
    Only 6 left in stock.