British East Africa / 0 Products

British East Africa was composed of British territories in Eastern Africa in 1888. These countries were Kenya, Uganda, Zanzibar, and Tanganyika (now Tanzania) in Eastern Africa. 

The collective used the shilling instead of the pound as its primary currency for accounting large amounts of money. Issued by the East African Currency Board, the East African shilling was used from 1921 to 1969. It was divided into 100 cents, with twenty shillings equivalent to 1 pound. 

During the reign of George V, coins in denominations of 1, 5, and 10 cents that feature a crown and the denomination were issued.  Coins of 50 cents and 1 shilling were also issued, featuring the bust of George V. 

At the time of Edward VIII, British East Africa also issued coins in denominations of 5 and 10 cents dated 1936. They also featured a crown and the denomination. 

During Queen Elizabeth II’s reign, bronze coins depicting the crown were issued. These coins were 1, 5, and 10 cents. A copper-nickel 50-cent coin featuring the bust of Elizabeth II was also issued dated 1954-1963.

Following its independence, bronze coins dated 1964 were issued in denominations of 5-cents and 10-cents.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page