Brunei / 0 Products

Since 1967, the Brunei dollar, which is subdivided into 100 sen (cents),  has been the currency of the Sultanate of Brunei. 

Because of Brunei’s close ties with China, the country’s first coins were Chinese coins called “Pitis”. Issued from the 16th until the 19th century, pitis coins were designed with a “Sultanate of Brunei” stamp on the obverse and a royal umbrella imprint on the reverse. 

The first series of Brunei dollar coins was designed by Christopher Ironside and issued in 1967 in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20, and 50 sen. These coins depict Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin III on the obverse. Their reverse shows an ornamental design or a native motif. 

The second series of Brunei dollar coins was issued following the ascend of Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah to the throne. The coins are also in 1, 5, 10, 20, and 50 sen denominations and depict Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah on the obverse. 

With the Sultan’s change of title to  ‘Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah’, the third series of coins was issued, still featuring the first portrait of Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah on the obverse but were struck with and without the sultan’s title. 

In 1984, the fourth series of Brunei dollar coins was issued, after the nation became an independent member of the Commonwealth of Nations. These coins display the sultan’s entirely new profile, facing forward.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page