German East Africa / 0 Products

German East Africa, as a colonial territory, had its own coinage issued during the German colonial period, primarily between the late 19th century and the outbreak of World War I in 1914. The currency used was the German East African Rupie, which was issued in the form of coins.

The German East Africa Company, which governed the territory before it was established as a German colony, issued early coins primarily for trade purposes, though they were not officially recognized currency. These coins were commonly used in trading activities with indigenous peoples and settlers. Subsequently, the German colonial administration introduced official coinage for German East Africa.

The currency system included the Rupie, serving as the primary unit and equivalent to 64 Pesa, along with smaller denominations such as the Pesa, Heller, and Pfennig. Coins were minted in various denominations, including 1⁄2, 1, 5, 10, and 20 Heller, as well as 1⁄4, 1⁄2, 1, 2, and 15 Rupien. They were typically crafted from copper, bronze, or silver, depending on their value.

These coins typically featured the coat of arms of German East Africa or the bust of the ruling monarch of Germany. The currency system remained in use until the end of World War I when the territory came under Allied control, leading to changes in currency and administration. However, these historical coins are no longer in circulation.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page