Kenya / 1 Products

Before independence, Kenya was a British colony, and the currency in use was the East African shilling. Coins used during this period typically bore the portrait of the ruling British monarch. Kenya gained independence from Britain in 1963. Following independence, Kenya introduced its own currency, the Kenyan shilling (KES), which replaced the East African shilling.

In the early years after independence, Kenya issued coins denominated in shillings and cents, featuring designs that often reflected national symbols, wildlife, or cultural heritage.

In 1980, Kenya introduced a new series of coins featuring the portrait of Daniel arap Moi. Denominations included 50 cents, 5 shillings, 10 shillings, and 20 shillings. In 2003, to commemorate the fortieth anniversary of Kenya's independence, a 40 shillings coin was issued, featuring the portrait of then-President Mwai Kibaki.

A new series of coins was released on December 11, 2018, with denominations of 1 shilling, 5 shillings, 10 shillings, and 20 shillings. All coins feature the national Coat of Arms of Kenya on the obverse side and iconic African wildlife on the reverse side. This new coin series is designed to be more accessible and recognizable for visually impaired individuals.

The 1 shilling coin is composed of nickel-plated steel and features a giraffe on the reverse side. The 5 shilling coin is bi-metallic, with a brass-plated steel center and a nickel-plated steel outer ring, showcasing a rhinoceros. Similarly, the 10 shilling coin is bi-metallic, with a nickel-plated steel center and a brass-plated steel outer ring, depicting a lion. The 20 shilling coin is also bi-metallic, with a brass-plated steel center and nickel-plated steel outer ring, featuring an elephant.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>
  • Drag and drop me to the cart The product is unavailable in the catalog
    As low as
    • Price:$9.99 USD
    • EachEa.
    Only 6 left in stock.