Kiribati / 0 Products

Kiribati was once part of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands, a British colony. During this time, the British introduced coins from other parts of the British Empire, especially those minted for British territories in the Pacific. The currency in common use within the Gilbert and Ellice Islands included British pounds and shillings.

In the late 1960s, the Australian dollar became the official currency of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands. The transition to the Australian dollar reflected Australia's influence in the region.

Kiribati achieved independence in 1979 and started issuing its own coins in the early 1980s with the introduction of the Kiribati dollar. This new currency was linked to the Australian dollar at a 1:1 exchange rate. Despite this, the Kiribati coins were not widely circulated, and the Australian dollar continued to be the predominant currency in use.

The denominations of Australian coins in use in kiribati are 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents, 1 dollar, and 2 dollars. The 5, 10, 20, 50 cents, and 1-dollar coins are made of cupro-nickel, while the 2-dollar coins are made of nickel-brass.

The 5-cent coin features a gecko, while the 10-cent coin has a breadfruit. The 20-cent coin depicts dolphins, and the 50-cent coin shows a pandanus tree. The 1-dollar coin displays an outrigger canoe, and the 2-dollar coin features a maneaba. Additionally, there is a commemorative coin that celebrates the 10th anniversary of Kiribati's independence.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page