Moldova / 1 Products

Before Moldova's modern statehood, it was part of the Principality of Moldavia, a medieval state in Eastern Europe. Coinage from this era included various types of silver and gold coins, typically featuring coats of arms or other symbols representing Moldavian rulers.

After the Treaty of Bucharest in 1812, the eastern part of Moldavia, known as Bessarabia, became part of the Russian Empire. During this period, Russian rubles and kopecks were used as currency, featuring the standard designs of the Russian Empire.

Following World War I and the collapse of the Russian Empire, Bessarabia united with Romania. The Romanian leu became the currency, with Romanian coins in circulation.

After the Soviet annexation of Bessarabia in 1940, Moldova became part of the Soviet Union. Soviet rubles and kopecks were used during this time, with designs depicting Soviet symbols and imagery.

After Moldova declared independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, the country introduced its own currency, the Moldovan leu (MDL), in 1993. The leu is divided into 100 bani.

The currency of Moldova is the Moldovan leu (MDL), subdivided into 100 bani. The most frequently used coin denominations are 1 leu, 2 lei, 5 lei, and 10 lei. The 5 bani, 10 bani, 25 bani, and 50 bani coins are seldom used. The 1 ban coin was discontinued in 2017.

Moldovan coins often showcase national symbols and imagery that reflect the country's culture and heritage. Common design elements include the coat of arms, numerical denominations, and inscriptions such as "Republica Moldova" along with other relevant text in Romanian.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>
  • Drag and drop me to the cart The product is unavailable in the catalog
    As low as
    • Price:$0.19 USD
    • EachEa.
    Credit Card
    1 -9
    $0.99 USD Each
    10 -99
    $0.39 USD Each
    100 -999
    $0.29 USD Each
    $0.19 USD Each