French Equatorial Africa / 0 Products

French Equatorial Africa or French Afrique Équatoriale Française (AEF) is what they collectively call the four French territories in central Africa from 1910 to 1959. The French Equatorial Africa franc was their old currency. It circulated, together with distinct banknotes and coins from 1917 and 1942, respectively. In 1945, the French franc was replaced by the CFA franc. The General Government of French Equatorial Africa made emergency issues of 1 and 2 franc notes in 1917. A temporary issue of 25 franc notes was produced by overprinting notes of French West Africa in 1925. No additional notes were produced till 1940, when the General Government made an emergency issue of 1000 and 5000 franc notes and were followed by Free French issues for 5, 10, 20, 25, 100, and 1000 francs in 1941. The Caisse Centrale de la France d'Outre-Mer took over the production in 1944, issuing notes for 5, 10, 20, 100 and 1000 francs. These notes continued to circulate after 1945 as CFA francs.

The CFA franc was introduced in 1945 to the French colonies in Equatorial Africa. It replaced the French Equatorial African franc. The following colonies and territories using the CFA franc were Chad, French Cameroun, French Congo, Gabon, and Ubangi-Shari. It remained in use even when these colonies gained independence.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page