West Africa / 1 Products

West Africa (Western Africa), the westernmost region of Africa, has 16 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo, as well as the United Kingdom Overseas Territory of Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha. The West African CFA franc (XOF) is the currency of the West African Monetary Union or the eight independent states in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. The Cape Verdean escudo (CVE) is the official currency of the Republic of Cape Verde. For Ghana, the unit currency is the Ghanaian cedi (GHS) which is the only current legal tender in the country.

The Gambia’s official currency, on the other hand, is the Gambian dalasi adopted in 1971 and divided into 100 bututs. The Guinean franc (GNF) is the official currency of Guinea, subdivided into one hundred centimes, although, no centime denominations have ever been issued. Liberia’s currency since 1943 is the Liberian dollar (LRD), normally abbreviated with the sign $, L$ or LD$. The Mauritanian ouguiya (MRU) is the currency of Mauritania and each constitutes five khoums. Nigeria also has its own currency which is the Nigerian naira (NGN), subdivided into 100 kobo. The Atlantic islands of Saint Helena and Ascension’s currency is the Saint Helena pound. It is subdivided into 100 pence. Sierra Leone has adopted the Sierra Leonean leone (SLL). Lastly, Tristan da Cunha officially adopted the British pound sterling.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>
  • Drag and drop me to the cart The product is unavailable in the catalog
    As low as
    • Price:$3.25 USD
    • EachEa.
    $3.35 USD Each
    $3.25 USD Each