Bohemia & Moravia / 0 Products

The Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia was an autonomous territory established by Nazi Germany on March 15, 1939. It was located in the central parts of Bohemia, Moravia, and Czech Silesia which is the modern-day Czech Republic. The majority of its population was ethnic Czech. Administered by the Nazis, the protectorate was considered by the German government as among the Greater German Reich. 

The Bohemian and Moravian koruna was the legal tender of the Bohemia and Moravia from 1939 to 1945, replacing the Czechoslovak koruna. Most banknotes were printed by Banknotendruckerei der Nationalbank fur Bohmen und Mahren. Additionally, most of the issues have two different specimen varieties: one was for other central banks while the other was designed for collectors. 

The 1940 provisional issues were prepared by the Czech Military in 1938 and were either hand-stamped or machine overprinted with Protectorat / Bohem / und Mahren / Protectorat / Cehy a Morava. On February 9, 1940, the protectorate started releasing notes in 1, 5, 50, 100 korun denominations. In 1942, the 10 korun was introduced, and in 1944 the 20 and 50 korun. Also in 1942, the National Bank for Bohemia and Moravia in Prague issued 100 and 500 korun banknotes. Finally, in 1944, 5000 korun notes were released by the National Bank. 

After Germany surrendered to the Allies in 1945, the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia was dissolved. The Bohemian and Moravian koruna was replaced by the reformed Czechoslovak koruna.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page