French Polynesia / 0 Products

French Polynesia is the French Republic's overseas collectivity and its sole overseas country. It's divided into five groups of islands: the Society Islands archipelago, comprising the Windward Islands and the Leeward Islands; the Tuamotu Archipelago; the Gambier Islands; the Marquesas Islands; and the Austral Islands. The French franc circulated in the country until 1914. Banknotes that year were issued particularly for use in the colony and circulated along with French coins. The CFP franc was introduced in 1945 with coins issued for French Oceania from 1949. Since 1965, the name French Polynesia has been used. 

The CFP franc (XPF) is used in French Polynesia, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna's French overseas collectivities. The initials CFP was originally Colonies Françaises du Pacifique (‘French colonies of the Pacific'), but was later changed to Communauté Financière du Pacifique ('Pacific Financial Community'). Its present term is Change Franc Pacifique ("Pacific Franc Exchange"). Today, all banknotes issued are strictly identical from French Polynesia to New Caledonia. One side of the banknotes shows landscapes or historical figures of French Polynesia, while the other side shows landscapes or historical figures of New Caledonia. Banknotes common to both French Polynesia and New Caledonia have been issued since 1985, although separate coinages continue.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to <a href="cart.php?target=cart">your cart</a>

Looks like there are no products in this category yet! More products for this category are coming soon!

Go back to the Home page