Tajikistan is a landlocked country in Central Asia. It is bordered by Afghanistan to the south, Uzbekistan to the west, Kyrgyzstan to the north, and China to the east.  

Map of Tajikstan | Source: World Atlas

Tajikistan was once part of the Soviet Union. When the Soviet Union dissolved in 1991, it gained independence. However, it continued using the ruble as its currency until 2000. The National Bank of the Republic issued these ruble notes from 1994 to 1999.  

5 Rubles | P-2 | 1994 | Source: Banknote World Educational

The National Bank of the Republic was renamed the National Bank of Tajikistan in 2000. The National Bank of Tajikistan also introduced its current national currency, the somoni (ISO code: TJS), at a rate of 1 somoni to 1,000 rubles in the same year. The somoni is named after Ismoil Somoni, the founder of Tajikistan. The somoni is divided into 100 dirams.  

Tajikistan 1 Somoni | 1999 | P-14A | Source: Banknote World

Somoni notes highlight national heroes and figures who revolutionized Tajikistans culture, arts, sciences, and philosophies. They also showcase natural landmarks and important buildings. The design of these notes has barely changed since its introduction. The changes that have been integrated are due to the upgraded security features. Currently, somoni notes come in the following denominations: 10, 20, 50. 100, 200, and 500 Somoni’s.

20 Somoni | 2021 | P-25d | Source: Banknote World Educational

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *